How does your garden grow?  With Colorwash,  and old book pages, and you don’t even have to ho (I mean hoe)!

Hope you guys have had a productive weekend.  T, I haven’t heard any bulletins from the Mounties about a husband being strangled with sync cords, so I take it things are back to normal at your house, ha ha!  Now, our first SHWAP lesson:

How to Make Paper Flowers

You’ll need:

  • Old book pages
  • Coloring medium (I use Ranger’s Colorwash)
  • 22 or 24 ga wire
  • Scissors or Circle punch
  • Tacky glue
  • Beads (optional)
  • Deco scissors (optional)

1.  Rip some pages out of an old book.  I get tons of them from our library, they are always sending stuff to the recycling bin.

2.  Color the pages with Colorwash, inkpads, paint, etc. & let them dry. papers.jpg

3.  Use the circle punch to, duh, punch out circles.  I use three per flower, you can have more if you want. punch-paper.jpg

4.  Fold the circles in half and then in half again.  At this point, you can trim along the edge of the circle with the deco scissors if you want.  You really don’t need a circle punch.  You can just fold a small piece of paper in half, then in half again, and trim the edge into a circle.fold-circles.jpg

5.  Cut a piece of wire 5 or 6 ” long.  Put a small loop at one end of the wire.  You could also add a bead and then loop it if you wanted a fancier center for your flower.cut-wire.jpg

6.  Poke the sharp end of the wire through the middle of one of the circles, and slide the circle down close to the loop.  Put a few dots of white glue in the center of the circle, and then smoosh the middle of the circle around the loop.poke-wire-thru-circle.jpgsmoosh.jpgadd-another-circle.jpgsmoosh-again.jpgthird-circle.jpg

7.  Add the other two circles in the same manner.  Voila!  You have a flower!

8.  To make the leaves, fold a piece of the colored paper in half, cut out a leaf shape, then wrap around the wire and glue in place!glue-on-leaves.jpgwrap-leaves.jpgleaves-done.jpgvoila.jpg

Variations: 

Change the size of the circles

Trim the edges of the circles with deco scissors

Dab the edges of the flowers in glue and dip in glitter

Hold one in your teeth and do the tango

What else is everyone up to?  We have several people interested in the card SWAP, I’ll post a list later on of who we have so far.

OOPS!  I was told by a ceratin person that it would be nice if i shared a little info about myself, so this is what we’re going to do.  I’ll post a regular run-of the-mill fact about myself and one off-the-wall random fact about myself.  Then it will be your turn!  Everyone time you leave a comment with a run-of-the-mill fact and an off-the-wall fact about yourself, I’ll do two more facts about me.  That way we can all get to know each other at the same time.  OK, here goes:

I am married with two kids

Frankie Avalon once tried to pick me up in a bar (that was back in my beach babe days)

Now it’s somebody else’s turn!  C’mon everybody, fess up! 

